Texas Ignition Interlock Device Information

January 1, 2016 | By Shane Phelps Law
Texas Ignition Interlock Device Information

In addition to jail time and fines, you may be required to have an ignition interlock device (IID) if you are found guilty of driving while intoxicated (DWI). This device acts as a breathalyzer test that you take to get your car to start.

Unfortunately, the court will not provide you with an IID. Instead, you will need to visit an IID service center to have the device installed in your vehicle. It is important to understand that all court-ordered IID installations must be performed by service centers certified by the Texas Department of Public Safety. You can expect to pay anywhere from $50 to $200 for installation and $50 to $100 in monthly rental fees.

As soon as you get an IID installed in your vehicle, you will be required to blow into it and successfully pass a breath test before your car can start. To prevent other individuals from blowing into the device, you will also have to perform multiple random tests while driving – typically every 20 minutes or so.

If the device measures a BAC of 0.05% or more, an alarm will go off, and the incident will be noted on the IID’s memory. Any tampering or attempts to tamper the device will also be recorded, which can result in more penalties.

If you have been arrested for a DWI in College Station, Texas, I can help you get the charges reduced, or the case dismissed entirely. To speak with an experienced and skilled DWI lawyer, contact Shane Phelps Law. and schedule a free consultation today.