TEXAS FRAUD DEFENSE LAWYER
WHAT IS FRAUD?
Fraud is considered a criminal charge in which a person acquires money or property by some form of deceit or scam. Whether it was a salesman who lied about the value of their product or a business lying about a deal to make you sign a contract, innocent Texans lose money to frauds by scam artists every single day.
TYPES OF FRAUD
Some acts of fraud include the following:
- Steal an unsigned check from another person in order to pass it as yours
- Fill, sign, and cash a check which doesn’t belong to you, without the owner’s permission
- According to Texas law, even accepting a stolen check knowingly is considered fraud
- Make false entries in books or records
- Create a false deed or other real estate document
- Credit card fraud in Texas
- Use a credit or debit card which doesn’t belong to you, even if it’s expired, revoked, or cancelled
- Steal a credit or debit card with the intent to use it, sell it or transfer it to anyone but the cardholder
- Purchase a credit or debit card from someone knowing it is stolen
- Insurance fraud
- Intentionally defraud, deceive, or mislead an insurer
Facing charges for fraud? Contact us to get the defense you need.
WHAT IS FORGERY?
Forgery crimes can result in either a misdemeanor or felony conviction, based on the item involved and the age of the victim. A state jail felony charge will be given if the writing is a deed, mortgage, will, or any document authorizing payment or money transfer.
A state jail felony is punishable by 18 months to two years in jail and a maximum fine of $10,000.
Other forgery charges include:
- Felony of the third-degree
- Paper money, revenue or postage stamps, stocks or bonds, or a government record.
- Two to 10 years in prison with a maximum fine of $10,000
- Class A misdemeanor
- Maximum one year in jail with a fine up to $4,000
WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR CREDIT CARD FRAUD?
Credit card fraud in Texas results in a felony conviction, with a penalty of 180 days to two years in a state penitentiary and a maximum fine of $10,000. If crime was committed on an elderly person, then it is considered a third-degree penalty, which carries a two to ten year prison sentence with the same fine amount.
WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR INSURANCE FRAUD?
Insurance fraud charges depend on the amount or value of the claim. Less than $50 is a Class C misdemeanor, which carries a $500 fine. The harshest penalty is associated with fraudulent claims valuing at over $200,000, which is considered a first-degree felony and carries a state prison sentence of five to 99 years and a fine up to $10,000.
If you have been charged with credit card fraud in Texas, do not hesitate to contact us at (979) 773-7028 today.
Whether it’s a misdemeanor or felony, you have a good chance of being sentenced to receive community service for a first-time offender or if the case doesn’t involve large sums of money. However, a criminal charge could cause irreparable damage to your reputation, making it difficult to register for college, apply for jobs, or purchase a home.
At Shane Phelps Law., our College Station criminal defense attorneys are committed to fighting for the justice you deserve. With decades of legal experience, we will conduct our own investigation in order to determine if the evidence against you holds up in court.
Although this may be an overwhelming time in your life, you do not have to work through matters on your own. We are here to ensure your voice is heard through the criminal justice system, and to provide you with the personalized attention you deserve from start to finish.
Both Charges Dismissed 2 Counts of Aggravated Assault
Dismissed Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon (2nd Degree)
Reduced to Class A Misdemeanor Assault Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/Bottle (2nd Degree)
No Billed by Grand Jury Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/Bottle (2nd Degree)
Refused After Our Investigation Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/firearm (2nd Degree)