College Station Domestic Violence Attorney
Domestic Violence Crimes in Texas
The state of Texas considers domestic violence as force in a domestic environment that causes injury, threatens to cause bodily injury or physical contact that could be considered offensive or provocative by the victim. These laws apply to more than just spouses.
In fact, you could be charged with domestic violence if violence was threatened or caused to anyone living with you in the household. If you or someone you know has been arrested for domestic violence, it is imperative you contact a skilled attorney to represent them immediately.
At Shane Phelps Law., our College Station domestic violence attorney has decades of experience handling domestic violence cases.
Give us a call today to speak with a College Station domestic violence attorney from our office!
What is Considered Domestic Violence in Texas?
Domestic violence is considered a pattern of abusive behavior in any relationship to maintain or gain control of another person in the relationship. This could be a spouse, live in girlfriend or boyfriend, children or roommate. Most people assume domestic abuse is simply a violent act, but you could be charged with domestic abuse if any of the following actions occurred.
- Physical Abuse— if an abuse is pinching, hitting, slapping, pulling hair, denying medical treatment to a domestic partner.
- Sexual Abuse – if an abuser coerces someone into having sexual contact without his or her consent.
- Emotional Abuse—this occurs when the abuser invalidates or deflates their spouse, or other household member’s sense of self-worth or self-esteem.
- Economic Abuse – an abuser will make the victim financially reliant on them by withholding access to their money or preventing them from attending school or work.
- Threats – in verbal or written form the abuser threatens to harm their victim
- Stalking and Cyberstalking – If the abuser follows the victim to work, spies or otherwise harasses them, it could be considered stalking. More behaviors of stalking include, sending gifts, leaving text messages and voicemails. Cyberstalking refers to repeated online actions that cause emotional distress on a victim.
Penalties for Domestic Violence
If you were accused of domestic violence, you could:
- Be ordered to leave your home
- Lose custody of your children
- Lose the right to own guns
In addition, if you are a licensed professional, you could be stripped of your license and face other administrative consequences. Depending on the domestic violence charges, you could face anywhere from a Class C misdemeanor penalty which carries a fine of up to $500 or a second-degree felony, which carries penalties of 2 to 20 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000. With so much at stake, you cannot afford to be unrepresented.
Contact Shane Phelps Law. to book your free consultation today.
- Free case evaluations
- Available 24/7
- Work directly with your attorney (not just a paralegal)
- Former prosecutor
Although this may be an overwhelming time in your life, you do not have to work through matters on your own. We are here to ensure your voice is heard through the criminal justice system, and to provide you with the personalized attention you deserve from start to finish.
Both Charges Dismissed 2 Counts of Aggravated Assault
Dismissed Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon (2nd Degree)
Reduced to Class A Misdemeanor Assault Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/Bottle (2nd Degree)
No Billed by Grand Jury Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/Bottle (2nd Degree)
Refused After Our Investigation Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/firearm (2nd Degree)