Texas Child Molestation Laws
Call (979) 773-7028 for Experienced & Reputable Legal Representation in Bryan & College Station
Being accused of child molestation can have life-altering consequences. You can ruin your professional and personal reputation in an instant. Furthermore, you may also have to live with being a registered sex offender for the remainder of your life.
If you are currently under investigation for child molestation in Texas, our Bryan and College Station criminal defense attorneys at Shane Phelps Law. are ready to protect your rights and future. With more than three decades of experience, we can evaluate your case and determine all of your legal options in order to obtain the most favorable outcome possible.
Schedule your complimentary consultation today.
Child Molestation Overview & Penalties
From engaging in sexual conduct that is harmful to a child’s physical, mental, or emotional welfare to allowing the sexual performance of a child, there are many different acts which constitute as child molestation or indecency with a child in Texas.
In most cases, child molestation is a second-degree felony, punishable by a prison sentence ranging from two to 20 years and a fine of up to $20,000. However, if a child victim is younger than 14 years of age, it is considered an aggravated sexual assault. This type of sex crime is a first-degree felony, punishable by a maximum prison sentence of 99 years.
While most child molestation claims are valid, some are falsely made. Our Bryan and College Station molestation defense attorneys can investigate your case, gather all of the evidence, and develop a strong and personalize defense strategy just for you.
Although this may be an overwhelming time in your life, you do not have to work through matters on your own. We are here to ensure your voice is heard through the criminal justice system, and to provide you with the personalized attention you deserve from start to finish.
Both Charges Dismissed 2 Counts of Aggravated Assault
Dismissed Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon (2nd Degree)
Reduced to Class A Misdemeanor Assault Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/Bottle (2nd Degree)
No Billed by Grand Jury Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/Bottle (2nd Degree)
Refused After Our Investigation Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/firearm (2nd Degree)