Possession with the Intent to Distribute
Let Our Experienced Bryan Drug Defense Attorney Fight for You
In Texas, those convicted of drug crimes can be severely punished. Even if you were in possession of a small amount of certain controlled substances, you could be thrown in jail for a long period of time, especially if you intended to distribute the drugs. Evidence which can be used to show your intent, such as a scale, small bags, and large amounts of cash, can be used against you in a court of law.
We understand how frustrating this conviction can be. Not only are you susceptible to serve a jail sentence and pay fines, but also receive permanent damage to your reputation. Our experienced legal team is prepared to seek the justice you deserve by preparing a solid defense strategy and thoroughly investigating the charge.
Receive your free initial consultation with our drug crime attorneys in College Station, TX.
Penalty Group Classifications
Based on §481.112 of the Texas Controlled Substances Act, a suspect person the offense of possession with intent to distribute if the person knowingly manufactures, delivers or possesses with intent to deliver a controlled substance. What determines the offense level are the kind of drug and amount distributed.
The penalty group classifications are the following:
- Penalty Group 1 – Cocaine, Heroin, Ketamine, Oxycodone, Hydrocodone, and Methamphetamine
- Penalty Group 1a – LSD
- Penalty Group 2 – Ecstasy, PCP, Marinol, Mescaline
- Penalty Group 3 – Ritalin, Hydrocodone (less than 300 mg.), Valium, Xanex
- Penalty Group 4 – Morphine, Motofen, Buprenorphine, and Pyrovalerone
No matter what kind of drug it is, if you are arrested with 400 grams or more, you may be charged with a life term in prison and/or fines of up to $100,000. Although for Penalty Group 1, you may be sentenced to a life term if you are found with less than 400 grams, but more than 200 grams. Less than a gram of a Penalty Group 1 substance is still considered a felony, which comes with a minimum two-year prison sentence and/or fines up to $10,000. If found with less than 28 grams of a Penalty Group 3 or 4 substance, it is considered a felony as well.
Do not hesitate to begin your path to freedom by calling (979) 773-7028 today!
With decades of experienced in the legal field, we understand the different approaches prosecutors will handle these types of cases and we know what it takes to properly defend your rights. With an exceptional track record of success, we are prepared to thoroughly investigate your case and you won’t have to pay until we win.
Although this may be an overwhelming time in your life, you do not have to work through matters on your own. We are here to ensure your voice is heard through the criminal justice system, and to provide you with the personalized attention you deserve from start to finish.
Both Charges Dismissed 2 Counts of Aggravated Assault
Dismissed Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon (2nd Degree)
Reduced to Class A Misdemeanor Assault Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/Bottle (2nd Degree)
No Billed by Grand Jury Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/Bottle (2nd Degree)
Refused After Our Investigation Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/firearm (2nd Degree)