How Road Rage Can Lead to Criminal Penalties in TX

Whether a driver cuts you off or you’re stuck behind a slow-moving vehicle, it is not uncommon to lose your temper and even hurl insults or profanities at a complete stranger on the road. This type of behavior is commonly known as road rage.  

However, not only can road rage lead to a serious car accident, but it can also result in criminal charges in Texas. Although state law does not specifically address road rage as a specific offense, certain actions associated with this type of driving behavior can lead to various charges. 

The following are the most common criminal charges related to road rage in Texas: 

  • Reckless driving – Driving a vehicle in a “willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property” is a misdemeanor that carries a maximum 30-day jail term and a fine of up to $200. Common examples of reckless driving include tailgating, excessive speeding, distracted driving, running a red light, and even evading law enforcement officials. 

  • Deadly misconduct – Placing another driver in danger of serious injury due to aggressive actions – such as intentionally cutting off a driver or running a vehicle off the road – is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a jail sentence of up to one year and a fine not exceeding $4,000. 

  • Assault – Threatening someone else with imminent injury is assault, which is a Class C misdemeanor that carries a maximum fine of $500. 

  • Battery – Causing injury is considered battery, which is a Class A misdemeanor. 

  • Vehicular manslaughter – Killing someone due to road rage or aggressive driving is considered vehicular manslaughter, which is a second-degree felony that is punishable by imprisonment for up to 20 years and a maximum fine of $10,000. 

If you or a loved one has been accused of a violent crime in Bryan or College Station, contact The Law Office of Shane Phelps, P.C. today at (979) 773-7028 for a free initial consultation. Available 24/7! 

Categories