Bryan & College Station DWI Child Endangerment Attorney
What Happens if I Get a DWI with a Child in the Vehicle?
Getting DWI conviction in Texas is already associated with harsh penalties, such as jail time and fines. However, if you get arrested for DWI child passenger in your vehicle, you may face increased punishment. This crime will be prosecuted as a state jail felony. You can expect to face between 180 days and two years locked up in a state jail facility, with additional fines and penalties that we discuss below.
Being “under the influence” in this context is to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08% or above. That is because this level of intoxication can result in the loss of control of ones mental and physical faculties.
Fortunately, with the legal assistance of a qualified College Station DWI defense lawyer, there is a chance you can have your penalties reduced or your entire case dismissed.
At Shane Phelps Law., we can provide the experienced and skilled legal representation necessary to obtain the outcome you desire and put this mistake behind you. With more than 30 years of experience, our College Station DWI defense attorney has a comprehensive understanding of Texas driving laws and court proceedings.
Schedule your free consultation with us!
WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR DWI CHILD ENDANGERMENT?
You can be convicted of child endangerment for driving while intoxicated if you’re carrying a passenger that is younger than 15 years of age. This offense is punishable by a maximum state jail sentence of two years, a fine of up to $10,000, and the loss of your driver’s license for 180 days.
If you’ve been accused of DWI child endangerment, you may be overwhelmed or intimidated by the complex legal processes that you will face. As a former prosecutor, our College Station DWI lawyer knows how the prosecution will approach your case and can anticipate what you should expect.
Our legal team can develop an aggressive and customized defense strategy in order to protect your rights, reputation, and freedom. Do not hesitate to contact The Law Offices of Shane Phelps, P.C. so we can get started on your case immediately.
Although this may be an overwhelming time in your life, you do not have to work through matters on your own. We are here to ensure your voice is heard through the criminal justice system, and to provide you with the personalized attention you deserve from start to finish.
Both Charges Dismissed 2 Counts of Aggravated Assault
Dismissed Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon (2nd Degree)
Reduced to Class A Misdemeanor Assault Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/Bottle (2nd Degree)
No Billed by Grand Jury Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/Bottle (2nd Degree)
Refused After Our Investigation Aggravated Assault w/Deadly Weapon/firearm (2nd Degree)