Underage DUI in Texas

Bryan, TX DUI Defense Lawyer

Texas is considered a zero-tolerance state, meaning that if a chemical test concludes that a driver under 21 years of age has a BAC level above 0.00%, he/she can be arrested for a DUI. If you are an underage driver and face a conviction for driving under the influence, our Bryan DUI attorney can provide you with the relentless and aggressive representation you need to reduce the charges or even get your case dismissed entirely. With decades of experience, our legal team is capable of protecting your rights and your reputation.

DUI Penalties

The difference between driving while intoxicated (DWI) and a driving under the influence (DUI) is that only drivers under the age of 21 can be charged with a DUI, which is considered a Class C offense and punishable by a maximum fine of $500 and 60 day license suspension. An alcohol education program must also be completed. However, if you don’t complete the program, an underage driver may face an additional 180 days of license suspension.

The following are additional offenses a driver may face due to being under the age of 21:

  • Presenting false identification or documents stating that you’re 21 years old
  • Possession of alcohol
  • Consumption of alcohol
  • Public intoxication
  • Purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol
  • Child endangerment

Serving Bryan and College Station, TX

At The Law Office of Shane Phelps, P.C., we understand how serious a DUI conviction is. Not only are you facing fines and license suspension, but a permanent mark on your criminal record. If you need to register for college, apply for a job or purchase a car, having a DUI charge can make attaining those things difficult. Our Bryan DUI attorney can analyze the evidence against you and properly challenge the prosecution’s strategy to obtain the results you desire.

Call (979) 773-7028 for your free consultation today.

Get in Touch Today