License Suspension in Texas
Let Our College Station DWI Attorney Help You
In addition to potential jail time and expensive fines for being convicted of a
DWI, you may run the risk of having your license suspended. Without your driving
privileges, it can be difficult to commute to work or conduct your normal
The Law Office of Shane Phelps, P.C., we can guide you through every step of the legal process to get your
license back as soon as possible. Our College Station DWI attorneys have
decades of experience in helping our clients protect their rights, reputations, and freedom.
How Long Will My License Be Suspended for a DWI?
Whether you failed BAC testing or refused to participate in a test,
you have only 15 days to request a DMV hearing in Texas to contest the administrative suspension of your driving privileges.
If you fail to do so, you will automatically lose your license once 40
days have passed since your DWI arrest. You must understand that the administrative
hearing is a separate action from the criminal case.
The following are the suspension periods depending on the number of DWI offenses:
- First DWI Offense – License suspension between 90 days and 365 days
- Second of Subsequent DWI Offense – License suspension between 180
days and two years
If you are arrested for driving with a suspended license for a DWI, it
is considered a Class B misdemeanor. A Class B misdemeanor is punishable
by a maximum jail sentence of 180 days and a fine of up to $2,000.
Getting You Back on the Road Immediately
College Station DWI attorneys understand the negative impact of not having
your license. Let us fight to defend you against the consequences you
Contact our firm and schedule a complimentary
consultation with our legal team.