Texas Child Pornography Laws
Bryan & College Station Criminal Defense Attorneys at Your Service
The definition of child pornography is any visual depictions of sexual
conduct involving a minor child. If a person is found to be in possession
of child pornography, participated in the production of this
sex crime, or sells or transports it, he or she is subject to a lengthy prison sentence,
an expensive fine, and registration as a sex offender for the rest of
his or her life.
If you are facing child pornography charges in Texas,
The Law Office of Shane Phelps, P.C. is committed to protecting your rights, reputation, and future. With decades
of experience, our Bryan and College Station criminal defense lawyers
possess the comprehensive knowledge of state law to guide you through
the intricacies of the criminal justice system and understand what it
takes to win.
Texas Child Pornography Statute & Penalties
According to Texas law, an individual commits the crime of possession of
child pornography if he or she intentionally or knowingly possesses visual
material that depicts a child younger than 18 years old engaging in sexual
conduct. Possession of child pornography is considered a third-degree
felony, punishable by a prison sentence between two and 10 years and a
maximum fine of $10,000.
Furthermore, if a person possesses visual material that contains six or
more identical depictions of a child, he or she will be charged with intent
to promote child pornography. This crime is a second-degree felony, punishable
by a prison sentence between two and 20 years and a fine of up to $20,000.
It is illegal to broadcast, photograph, record, videotape, or transmit
any visual image of a child with the intent to arouse or sexually gratify
another individual. This offense is a state jail felony, punishable by
a jail sentence ranging from 180 days to two years and a fine of up to $10,000.
A person can be charged with sexual performance of a child if he or she
authorizes, employs, or induces a person who is under 18 years of age
to engage in sexual conduct or sexual performance. This offense is considered
a second-degree felony. However, it can be upgraded to a first-degree
felony if the victim was under 14 years of age at the time of the offense.
A first-degree felony results in a prison sentence ranging from five and
99 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
Lastly, child pornography convictions may also require the defendant to
register as a sex offender for the remainder of his or her life.
Call (979) 773-7028 to Start Your Defense Today
Whether you were misled or were unaware of the specific facts, our Bryan
and College Station criminal defense attorneys understand that innocent
people are involved in these types of sex crimes frequently. We can investigate
your case, examine the evidence available, and build an effective defense
strategy to get the results you desire.
Contact us and request a
free case evaluation immediately.